Header logo is pi
Department Awards
Scientific Awards



  • Donghoon Son and Metin Sitti: Best Medical Robotics Award Finalist in the IEEE Robotics and Automation Conference for the research paper entitled, “Magnetically Actuated Soft Capsule Endoscope for Fine-Needle Aspiration Biopsy” - More Information
    Donghoon Son Metin Sitti


  • Yunus Alapan received a Humboldt Postdoctoral fellowship. 
    Yunus Alapan


  • Chantal Göttler: 1st Prize at the "Thesis in Three" Competition in the M.Sc. category
    Chantal Goettler
  • Wenqi Hu received a Humboldt Postdoctoral fellowship. 
    Wenqi Hu
  • Wendong Wang received a Humboldt Postdoctoral fellowship. 
    Wendong Wang
  • Alumnus award: Our lab alumnus Assist. Prof. Bahareh Behkam at Virginia Tech in USA received the National Science Foundation CAREER award from the Biomedical Engineering program in 2015. Her award will focus on investigating immune cell-bacteria interactions in the cancer tumor microenvironment.
    Metin Sitti


  • Metin Sitti and our lab alumnus Assist. Prof. TaeWon Seo in Yongnam University, Korea received the IEEE/ASME Best Mechatronics Paper Award due to the IEEE/ASME Trans. on Mechatronics paper in 2013 on tank-like modular climbing robots using elastomeric dry adhesives.
    Metin Sitti

  • Alumnus / Best Poster Award: Our lab alumnus Uyiosa Abosomwan, who is a senior researcher now in Schlumberger, and Metin Sitti received the Best Poster Award in the Adhesion Conference, San Diego in 2014 due to the research poster on contact self-cleaning mechanics of gecko-inspired adhesives.
    Metin Sitti

  • Congratulations to PhD candidate Uyiosa Abusomwan on his best poster award in the 2014 annual meeting of the Adhesion Society. - More Information
    Metin Sitti